Review #5 Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics (OCC) lip tars


Review #5 Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics (OCC) lip tars

10ml, RRP $18 lipstickrepublic

OCC liptars

OCC lip tars are the talk of the town in the beauty world. They are super pigmented “liquid lipsticks” that only need the tiniest amount to do both your lips. Seriously, this is how much you need:

droplet

Description from Lipstick Republic:

A stunning new innovation in lip color, OCC Lip Tar combines the longevity of a lipstick, with the ease of application of a gloss. Goes on slick and moist, and dries down to a satin finish. Ultra-saturated in color, Lip Tar contains an unprecedented amount of pigment – a little goes a very, very long way! An intense yet featherweight layer of color that never looks or feels heavy. Meant to be mixed, Lip Tar comes in concise array of colors for a limitless selection of shades made by you! A simple, elegant formula that contains Hemp Oil, Peppermint Oil and Vitamin E, OCC Lip Tar feels as good on the lips as it looks!

The peppermint smell was a little distracting at first (I have a slight allergy to mint 😦 ) but once its on your lips you can’t smell it at all which is a relief. When i opened the box they came in and all I could smell was mint I got a little worried.

Each tube comes with its own little brush, which is a perfect size for how little you need to use.

If you overdo it, it can become quite messy.

They have a massive 54 colours across 5 ranges (Regular, Heroine, Metallurgy, Sci Fi Lullabies and the new lip stains) plus a clear gloss that they recommend you use as a primer of sorts. You can also mix the colours up and create new colours. There is a black and white in there if you want to darken or lighten your favourite colours.

I’m such a daredevil and didn’t get the clear gloss (plus they have been out of stock for ages), but I did get Stalker and Tarred from the regular collection, Yaoi from Metallurgy and Black Dahlia from Heroine.

Stalker: Pin up blue based red

StalkerStalker swatch

Apart from my totally awkward application (i seriously don’t have a proper cupids bow – it sux), I really liked this colour. Its very flattering and is nice and matte when it dries. I didn’t leave it on very long, but I can tell this is one that would last for ages.

Yaoi: True fuchsia metallic

Yaoi

Yaoi Swatch

While not really my colour, I kinda like Yaoi. It’s not obvious in the pictures, but it is pretty glittery, which adds to the metallic look. This actually behaved ok – no feathering or bleeding. Just remember to use a makeup wipe to remove it, and be prepared for the glitter stains!

This is part of the metallurgy range, and clearly it belongs there!

Black Dahlia: Blackened Red

Black DahliaBlack Dahlia Swath

The tube is totally deceiving – i had to check the name on the back twice to make sure it was correct. It looks pretty much black on in the tube, but is a pretty nice shade on the lips.  I did find that out of all of them, Black Dahlia bled/feathered the worst. You can sort of see it happening around the edges – I tried swatching it on my hand but it bled way too much. I think you may need a primer or use the OCC clear gloss with this one. This is part of the Heroine range – I’m not sure what the range is supposed to acheive, but I guess this colour would fit.

Tarred: True Black (mostly used for darkening).

Tarred

Gotta be honest here guys, when i went to do the swatches for Tarred, I found that it had separated. Apparently this is a common thing for some of the lip tars. Luckily there is an easy solution.  Leesha from Xsparkage did a video a while ago about the easiest way to fix this, which you can find here.

So this took a little while ( I let it fix itself over night), and then the next morning it was ready for this:

002

I didn’t use as much as i used with the others. And although this is technically meant for darkening other colours, i think you could totally get away with using this on its own -(but it does bleed a little bit as well)

$18 may seem a little much for such a tiny tube, but you use so little of it each time that it is worth it’s weight in gold!

I will be reviewing more colours in the future, but for now I just wanted to introduce you to my new love.

 

Does anyone else own any liptars? what are your favourite colours?

3 thoughts on “Review #5 Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics (OCC) lip tars

  1. rosebisque says:

    No way, you love OCC lip tars too?! I’m obsessed with these! They’re so pigmented and last forever 🙂 My absolute favourites are Hoochie, the bright purple shade, and Pretty Boy, a neon fuchsia. If I could, I would own every single colour – a girl can dream, hey?

    Fab post!
    Rosie xx

  2. 1reddiva83 says:

    I have lovecraft, black dahlia, liptrych and trollop. Trollop and liptrych is my favorite right now

Leave a Reply

