Beauty Box Review – June 2013


Bella Box Review – June 2013

$15 per month bellabox.com.au

Bella box

I’ve been seeing heaps about these “subscription” boxes for ages. Basically, you pay a monthly or annual free, and they send you a sampling of beauty and skin care products. It’s perfect if you like trying out new things, or for beauty bloggers like me who like to have something new to review delivered to your door!

Here is a bit from the Bellabox website (note: everything in italics for the rest of this review has been sourced from Bellabox)

Bellabox is the beauty sampling concept to revolutionize the way Australian’s discover, trial and purchase beauty and lifestyle products.Each month, you’ll receive a premium selection of beauty and lifestyle samples that the bellabox team has sourced, tried and approved. We only obtain beauty products from well known, cult, boutique and emerging brands to deliver you the very best selection to try at your leisure, in the comfort of your own home.The women’s bellabox includes everything from skincare to makeup, nail polish, to the latest beauty trends, as well as perfume samples, hair treatments and leading organic products plus fun non-beauty extras. A range beauty choices are considered during compilation, such as skincare concerns, age appropriateness and product preferences

This is my very first box – I signed up half way through the month so I got the June box late  (like 2 days into July late! Thats the last time I have anything delivered to my home address).I’ll have the July one shortly so that review shouldn’t be too far away.

The items that you get depend on the answers to your beauty survey . They say you get 5-7 “surprise items” each month – well I got 8!

Here is what I got in this months box

emerginC Vitamin C and retinol mask. 50ml full size – $65. Sample size 3ml/ $3.90

ermginC mask

  • Gives skin a visible boost

  • Helps even out skin tone

  • Brightens complexion

  • Removes dead skin cells

This active, clay-based mask gives noticeable results from just one application. Containing potent concentrations of vitamin C, lemon juice, retinol and green tea, it rapidly removes dead skin cells and visibly improves skin tone, brightness and texture. Suitable for all skin types, except very sensitive. No animal ingredients or testing

I love clay masks. I have one that i regularly use, so its interesting to see how it compares to my $9.95 tube!

It’s a completely different consistency – much thinner than a normal mud mask (actually i’m not sure this is a mud mask, but lets just roll with it). It applies nicely, and when it dries it doesn’t feel heavy on your face. My skin felt great after it had washed off, and I think it did actually brighten my skin a little (but I’m also sick at the moment so not sure whether I can trust that).

If it wasn’t for the $65 price tag, I would seriously consider buying this!

Avene Micellar lotion 3 in 1 $32.95 200ml – sample size 25ml/ $4.10

Avene 1

  • Removes every trace of makeup, no rinsing

  • Soothes and cleanses

  • Three-in-one benefits with only one step.

  • Hypoallergenic for sensitive skin

You can literally stop worrying about stocking up your medicine cabinet with separate face wash, toner and makeup remover. Using Micelle technology Avene has produced a three-in-one lotion that’s going to soothe irritated skin, remove every trace of makeup, and cleanse. It’s completely gentle, so even the most sensitive skin types can benefit! And what’s more, you don’t have to rinse it off, three products, one step. If only every part of your health regime was as quick as this

OK, this is an awesome product. It removes my eye makeup just as well as my makeup wipes, plus it also makes my skin feel amazing!

Considering that I would be replacing 3 different products (thus freeing up some room in my already cluttered bathroom), I would happily buy this.

This sample size that I received is perfect for travelling, as is good for quite a few uses – so you can imagine how many uses you would get out of a bottle nearly 10 times the size!

Lady Gaga Fame 100ml $110 – Sample size 1.2ml/$1.32

Lady GaGa fameFame bottle

  • First of its kind in fluid technology

  • Exudes a lustful floral fruity essence

  • Black fluid but invisible once airborne

Embrace Lady Gaga Fame, the sultry black eau de parfum. First of its kind in fluid technology, it is black like the soul of Fame but invisible once airborne. Caution, its’ lustful floral fruity essence may cause illicit fits of extravagance, unrivalled rushes of adoration, and prolonged moments of ecstasy and rapture.

I should probably say here: I got two samples for some reason, however I have only included one in the value price.

When I first tried this, I sprayed it too close to my wrist, and all I got was that awful cheap perfume smell. I waited a while, and then tried it on my other wrist MUCH further away, and you know what, it’s actually quiet nice. I let hubby smell it and he quite liked it as well. However, it is a little pricey for me. Maybe once I have saved up some reward points, I will purchase it.

Montagne Jeunesse passion peel off mask 10ml $3.99 – sample size 5ml/$1.95

Passion peel off

  • Contains powerful fruits and vitamins for a deep cleanse, and beautiful glow

  • Provides anti-oxidant protection

  • Skin is soft, nourished and ready for anything

  • Available at Priceline, Big W & selected pharmacies

When it comes to skincare, the restorative and nourishing benefits of nature’s flora cannot be understated. Every year science learns more about what the earth can do for our skin and modern gals are getting the chance to reap the benefits of ancient knowledge used by the likes of Cleopatra.

Case in point, this oh-so-refreshing peel off mask from Montagne Jeunesse. Their Passion Peel Off Mask will have you absolutely falling in love with your gorgeous skin. Pulped pomegranate, passion flower, Vitamin E, raspberry, grape and cranberry are combined for deep cleansing and anti-oxidant protection. Go ahead, have the glowing face of a queen courtesy of Montagne Jeunesse

I didn’t think this could get any smaller but it has. I’ve tried the full size one before and it wasn’t bad – but I hate the packaging. I prefer my masks in tubes, and I find it easier to apply. I’m on a bit of a mud-mask kick at the moment, so I probably wont find a use for this.

Toni and Guy hair meet wardrobe creative texturising glue 100ml $15.99 – Received full size

Toni and Guy

  • Allows you to create a look as interesting as you are!

  • Creates ultimate control over every strand.

  • Sculpt, fold, rough up your hair, texturising glue keeps it there!

  • Available at Coles, Woolworths, Priceline and Big W

Need to add a little attitude to your entire look? Want to gain an edge and show your personality at the office whilst still dressing conservatively? How about creating a style that’s as fierce as the outfit you’ve picked out for Saturday night? Whatever your reasons, TONI&GUY’s Hair Meet Wardrobe Creative Texturising Glue is your go-to product for sculpting, perfecting and creating piecey, structured style with aplomb. It’s perfect for defining your fringe or creating a touch of androgyny and sex appeal to your layered locks!

I love the fact that I received a full size of this! This alone is worth the cost of the box. However, its not something I would use reguarly. It comes out as a white cream, and once it goes in your hair it certainly has the consistency of glue. I tend to stick more to hair spray for my needs, but I have a friend who this would be perfect for! So yes, I recommend it, but it’s not for me.

emerginC hyper-vitalizer cream 50ml $99 – sample size 3ml/ $5.95

ermginC cream

  • Suitable for all skin types, excellent for sensitive skin

  • Combines highly efficient ingredients for beautiful results

  • Shores up skin’s natural defenses and provides even tone

What do you get when you combine the awesome powers of alpha-lipoic acid, coenzyme Q10 and lutein? An amazing ultra hydrating, nourishing cream that gives a high charge boost to your cell’s natural processes while delivering anti-oxidant and anti-inflammatory benefits.

You get skin that’s radiant, healthy and totally revitalised. To keep away sun damage, to allow your skin to do its job at optimum levels and to have that firm, plump, even texture to your skin, it’s gotta be emerginC’s Hyper-Vitalizer Cream!

I think it might be because i’m sick, but my skin didn’t like this – it didn’t soak in properly. I don’t want to say that this isn’t a good product, just that because I am sick, I wasn’t able to use it effectively. So I will stay on the fence for this one for the moment.

Streetstar cosmetics lip gloss 7.4g $17.95 – received full size

lip gloss packagingLip gloss shade

  • Long lasting and glossy lips with the perfect amount of sparkle

  • Special crushed pearl formula for texture and shine

  • Includes Vitamin E to nourish lips

StreetStar’s StreetGloss isn’t just any lip gloss. The Australian owned cosmetics brand created a crushed pearl formulation, delivering shine and sparkle that’s never too wet or sticky looking, and never dry. You might even say its texture is perfect.

And it has Vitamin E to not only keep your lips looking soft and supple but feeling soft and supple as well. What more could you ask for? How about a full suite of colours that will accommodate every mood and every skin tone? You’ve got it! Now, go be a Street Star.

Lip GlossLip gloss applicator

Yay another full size product! The packaging of this was so fancy! It had a brush style applicator that annoyed me when it was with the latest lime crime glosses, but seems to work quite well with this one. The shade is quite shimmery, and it feels great on. I also love the fact that this is an Australian Brand. There is a slight scent coming from the bottle, but it doesn’t seem to be overpowering once on the lips.

If they have a decent range of products, then yes i will certainly consider purchasing.

Lip gloss swatch

Natio nail colour $9.99 (but apparently was a bonus – full size)

Natio nail polishNail polish back

  • Long lasting, wearable nail colour

  • Fast drying, formaldehyde-free nail colour

  • Comes in a range of great colours!

Natio’s range of long lasting nail colours offers a complete palette of wearable, timeless and on-trend shades to suit every skin tone, style and occasion. The fast drying, chip resistant formula is free of formaldehyde, toluene and dibutyl phthalate (DBP). Natio Valentine is a classic vibrant red, perfect for a feminine everyday manicure or night time glamour.

Couldn’t really try this as I’m currently in the process of a massive nail polish review, but from what I could tell it looks pretty good – you always need a nice red nail polish. I’ll try this (and maybe some other Natio colours) another time and review it properly, so lets just say for now i’m on the fence.

Would buy full size: Avene Micellar lotion 3 in 1, Streetstar cosmetics lip gloss

Would not buy full size: Toni and Guy hair meet wardrobe creative texturising glue, Montagne Jeunesse passion peel off mask

On the fence:  emerginC Vitamin C and retinol mask, Lady Gaga Fame, emerginC hyper-vitalizer cream

Overall impression of the box?

Loved it. There were a few things I could probably have done without, but overall it was great. Certainly got my moneys worth! I would recommend this box to anyone – they even have a guys and babys box.

Total value of box – $51.76 (not including nail polish or extra Lady gaga fame)

One thought on “Beauty Box Review – June 2013

Leave a comment