The Pintester Movement!


Hey Beauty Babes!

Today I’m doing something a little different (hence this being posted on a different day) – I’m taking part in the Pintester Movement!

Basically, Sonja the Pintester  tests Pinterest Pins (if you haven’t heard of Pinterest, you may have been living under a rock!), and seems to fail at them a lot – but thats part of the fun!.

She had challenged   her Pintestes (hehe) to try and re-create one of the many pins that she had tested. Me being me, I chose something from her “Cocknails”  video series (she paints her nails whilst drinking cocktails – it makes sense).

Now I decided not to film this, so I just took pictures instead.

Here is my attempt at the cocktail:

Bubble Rum:

http://everydaydrinkers.com/2013/02/14/the-rum-bubble-cocktail-how-to/

Recipe:

  • 2 oz. light rum ( 2 shots/60ml)

  • 1.5 oz. triple sec (1.5 shots/45ml)

  • 1 dash aftershock cinnamon schnapps

  • 4 oz club soda

Ok, I looked at that list and went – what the hell is club soda?! Once I found out it was Soda water, I decided “screw that” and changed it to lemonade.

Also, it appears to be impossible to get Cinnamon Schnapps in this country, so I put in a dash of Cinnamon Whiskey that a friend had left in our fridge!.

167

Now if you look at the recipe you will notice just how ridiculously alcoholic this thing is! I think my substitutions worked quite well!

168

That darker looking one is just because of the whiskey behind it!

169

So now that I’m nice and drunk, it’s on to the manicure!

Heres the link to the original: http://www.spektorsnails.com/2012/06/neon-straw-nails.html

For my version I used:

– Manicare French white nail polish (as my white matte decided to die)

–  Acrylic black paint

– Natio Nail polish in Valentine

– Straw (of course).

001

First you apply the white base, and let it dry.

002

Then you dip your straw into a little bit of the acrylic paint, and place it in your nails in some sort of a pattern

003

After that has dried, repeat the process with the second colour (I chose the red as its a great contrast).

004

Once that has dried, apply a top coat…006

And you are done!

007

Oh so sexy isn’t it!

I encourage you guys to get out there and try and all those pinterest pins that you have been meaning to do since the day pinterest launch. Also, go on and check out the Pintester site – its good for a laugh!

19 thoughts on “The Pintester Movement!

  1. […] The Pintester Movement! (darkbeautymakeup.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Ashley Bee says:

    I think alcohol was a huge missing component in my own Pintest. Maybe that’s why mine came out so gross! Hehe…

  3. Sonja Foust says:

    Not bad, girl! And I’m glad the cocktail worked for you, even without club soda. 🙂 I bet it wasn’t too bubbly, though– the club soda is the part with the bubbles!

  4. That turned out really cool-looking! But, cinnamon whiskey? Who knew?

  5. Darlene says:

    Wow, I am so impressed that you pulled off the nail bubbles. I have failed at more nail art than succeeded.

  6. The nails look really cute actually. I always think those fancy nail pins are fakers. Good job.

  7. That drink still looks bubbly. Is that carbonated lemonade?

  8. Court says:

    I missed that post on The Pintester so I’m glad I caught this one. I might be able to manage this for a few days!

  9. Sarah says:

    Fireball is my favorite booze in the world. I can’t buy it often because I WILL drink the entire bottle.

    Also, the nails turned out super cute!!

  10. The nails turned out cute!!

  11. Natalia says:

    I really like the the combination of the black and pink. Super adorbs. 🙂

  12. Tini says:

    Your nails turned out looking amazing! I’ll definitely give this a go soon 😀 Love the combo of the pink and black!!

  13. Kim says:

    They look good, and much like everyone else, I’m super jealous of the cocktail you made!

  14. Julie says:

    I like the colors you chose. You made me want to try this one!

  15. hkschulte says:

    This turned out so cute! And how does your white polish not look like gloopy white out??

Leave a Reply

