Review – Pretty Serious Cosmetics Nail Polish


Pretty Serious Cosmetics – Nail Polish

$9.95 each

Beserk Cothing or direct from Pretty Serious

Hey Beauty Babes, today I have a review of some pretty awesome nail polishes for you.

Pretty Serious Cosmetics is an Australia brand that makes Nail Polishes, some loose pigments and lip glosses. They don’t sell “seasonal” or “on-trend” colours, just whatever they feel like, and with some pretty awesome names. Their products are vegan and cruelty free.

I’ve got 5 colours to review today out of their VERY extensive range. As always, I’ve purchased these myself, and intend to buy a whooole lot more.

88MPH

026

You’re about to see some serious shit! 88mph is our tribute to the Delorean from Back to the Future. It is a metallic foil mixed with gold, copper and silver with a touch of holographic, time ripping sparks. Great Scott!

This is a pretty spectacular colour. It is jam packed full of glitter – some of it microfine, others much larger – which makes for an interesting texture. This really comes alive with 2-3 coats. One coat would look great over a darker base.

Atomic Brain

022

Harness the atomic power of this amazing purple foil multichrome! Experience the wonder of plum, gold, pink and purple dancing on your nails all at once! Resist the urge to transplant your brain into the body of your sexy foreign housekeeper!

Again, awesome colour. This also only needs 2-3 coats. Filled with microfine glitter, the shimmer is amazing – it almost looks holographic in the bottle. I do feel like this needs maybe a green shift to it as well, but I’m sure they already have one that does.

BSOD (Blue Screen of Death)

024

oops…forgot to have the brand name facing forward!

All your friends will stop and stare at this beautiful blue jelly packed to bursting with blue glitter. Don’t make the critical error of passing this one up!

Disclaimer: Any instance of Blue Screen of Death while purchasing this product is a complete coincidence. Quite possibly the coolest coincidence ever, but still a coincidence.

So….many…puns! I work in I.T. so I couldn’t go past this one. The picture doesn’t capture the true amazing-ness of this. In just 2-3 coats you have a beautiful blue filled with microfine glitter that sparkles so brightly. Unfortunately, this doesn’t actually match the true colour of a BSOD (trust me, I know). I think this might be one of my favourites.

Cybernetic

025

In the year 2165, a cybernetic nail polish goes back in time to 2013 with a mission to assimilate the nails of all the ladies into the Pretty Serious network with it’s advanced nanotech. Will you fight assimilation? Do you want to?

I would say that this is like a party on you nails – but they already have one of those! This is a purple-ish blue with blue, purple and green glitter. This is somewhere between the microfine glitter of BSOD and the chunky glitter of 88MPH. One of my favourites, even though it takes closer to 4 coats to achieve true opaqueness. Try a think layer over black for a different look.

Nightmaren

020

There is a Ying to every Yang, and a Nightmaren to every Nightopian. This glowing, warm golden red giggles fiendishly though the night. Will you give in to it?

This is a gorgeous metallic red with microfine gold shimmer to it. This is the easiest colour to work with (and honestly, probably is easiest to get away with wearing) with only 1-2 coats needed, if that. Even though it’s not technically “seasonal”, this would work great leading up to Christmas.

It’s hard to pick a favourite out of all of them, as they are so freaking sweet. So I’m not. This may just be my new favourite brand of nail-polish, and reasonably priced for something that could be consider an “alt” brand. The Pretty Serious website includes collections of 5 nail polishes for less than it costs to purchase all 5 individually.

I would recommend using a top coat for these, as like most glitter nail polishes they do chip earlier than I would like (or is that just me? I have terrible luck with nail polish chipping)

So which of these is you favourite? Have you tried Pretty Serious before? Comment Below.

5 thoughts on “Review – Pretty Serious Cosmetics Nail Polish

  1. Kat says:

    Omg I’m in love with the purple one!!

  2. Theresa says:

    I hate Pretty Serious products. I ordered them twice. The first lot was missing a product and they blatantly refused a refund or replacement. The second timely polish bottle was only half full! Disgraceful company.

    • gothicbeeza says:

      I’m sorry you had such a bad time with them. I didn’t order directly from Pretty Serious, I ordered from my Australian supplier of all things awesome. It sucks when one bad experience ruins our whole opinion of a company 😦 Hopefully they have picked up their game since then.
      Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Jasmine says:

    This collection is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

